Domains of Physical Literacy

Physical literacy can be divided into three different domains: physical, affective, and cognitive. These domains affect each other’s, and they are intertwined.

Physical domain encompasses all the various movements, activities, fundamental motor skills, competences, and physical fitness that can be learned through various workouts and physical activities. These can be gained and enhanced in physical education lessons.

Motivation and confidence for an active lifestyle are related to the affective domain. Individuals who have more motivation and confidence have a capacity to engage in physical activities at a higher rate than others. In physical education, it’s critical to develop students’ intrinsic motivation for physical fitness and other activities. Motivation is the driving force behind all our behaviours and may be categorized into two categories: extrinsic and intrinsic.

Students’ knowledge and understanding of physical activity, health, and an active lifestyle forms the cognitive domain. This indicates that students know when, how, and why to move in order to maintain or improve their health and well-being. For example, they can identify and express the health benefits of physically active life.

References / Further reading
  1. Caldwell, H., A., T., Di Cristofaro, N., A., Cairney, J., Bray, S. R., MacDonald, M., J. & Timmons, B., W. 2020. Physical Literacy, Physical Activity, and Health Indicators in School-Age Children. Int. J. Environ. Res. Public Health 2020, 17, 5367. DOI: 10.3390/ijerph17155367
  2. Edwards, L. C., Bryant, A. S., Keegan, R. J. et al. 2017. Definitions, Foundations and Associations of Physical Literacy: A Systematic Review. Sports Med 47, 113–126. DOI: 10.1007/s40279-016-0560-7

How to use digital toolkit

See tehnical help / FAQ

Your internet browser is outdated!

For better and user friendly experience use one of the following internet browsers.